Q's On Cid's Recover Of The Reno Pd Thompsons A

Have been reading the threads on Subguns regarding the second attempt by CID to recover now two Thompsons that came out of the Reno PD. As an attorney, I think the feds may have an uphill battle, but someone will be out a lot of effort and money to prove the point if the feds pursue it.

How does one know if your NFA item came out of a PD via a purported "loan" by the Government as opposed to a direct purchase by the PD from Auto Ordnance or Savage?

Will a FOIA request show the origin of the weapon, or will the information be redacted so you cannot tell the source?

But, it makes me uncomfortable to say the least. Despite my desire to have a US Property marked weapon, at this point I'm glad I don't.

Ken

QUOTE (TNKen @ Jun 2 2005, 10:37 AM)
How does one know if your NFA item came out of a PD via a purported "loan" by the Government as opposed to a direct purchase by the PD from Auto Ordnance or Savage? 

Any guns loaned by the government to police agencies would have ben post-WWII giveaways of surplus guns to law enforcement agencies. Apparently, some police agencies obtained guns this way.

Any direct purchase of a Thompson by a police agency would have been through Auto-Ordnance Corporation. Savage was contracted to make Thompsons by Auto-Ordnance Corporation, Savage did not make any direct sales to law enforcement, military or anyone else.

I'm not sure I understand what is going on here. So these military property guns were only loaners to the PDs and then the PDs sold them to civilians. If that is the case, then why don't they go after the PDs who allegedly sold illegal guns?

What about any military Thompson? There are a lot of them out there with government inspection stamps. Are the ones a Reno singled out because they have the, "US Property," on them? I wonder what makes those at Reno so special.