1928a1vsm1a1

here is the questions I have I want to buy a parts kit to convert to semi-auto I know at one time during the 20s or 30's there was a semi-auto only version was this done through the trigger group or the receiver (if it was the receiver is there any machinist prints) if it was done throught the trigger group could you take out the selector switch and weld up the hole then modify the bolt assembly for semi-auto operation which model would be better for doing this the 1928A1 or the M1A1? is there someone out there doing this modification already I know it would be cheaper to buy a semi-auto but I just don't think it would be the same as I said I am very new to this any information would be appreciated I would just buy a real Submachine Gun but it is out of my budget does anyone have any thoughts on a semi-auto conversion thanks.

http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/smile.gif

hvac,

Your refering to the 1927 Thompson Semi-automatic Carbine. These are quite rare, being actual 1921 models that had some of the firing mechanism parts replaced. The Stamped "Model of 1921" was ground off and re-stamped with "Model of 1927". Also "Thompson Submachinegun" was ground off and replaced with "Thompson Semi-Automatic Carbine".

Probably less then 150 were converted to this model.

Problem is, all you have to do is remove the semi parts and drop in the parts from a 21 or 28 and you have yourself a full auto again. And that is what the ATF would not care for, not to mention that open bolt stuff.

So, I'm not sure how or what the laws are for registering a semi that fires from an open bolt compounded with you manufacturing a NFA wepon... Others here on the board are much more versed on this subject.

But if I were you, I would just get an existing semi and spice it up with some parts kits and other nifty things one can do, or bit the bullet and get a full auto if you live in an NFA state.