Mauser Broomhandle Stock Leather Harness Original?

Looking for some expert eyes to determine if this leather harness is original:

https://www.gunbroker.com/Item/796959515

It looks too good or new looking (stamped number) to be original, but I'm not an expert.

Any other comments about it appreciated.

Thanks,

Robert

On GB under the heading of “Broomhandle” there is a nice vintage M96 leather stock holder that you can inspect and compare.

I looked and saw these:

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/790749529

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/793530175

I think I like the shoulder hanging leather harness, assuming that's correct for my gun (manufactured between 1915 to 1921 as I recall from looking up the SN).

Robert

Both guns in both those auctions have been refinished, both harness' are repros, and only the mauser banner stock in the ......175 auction is legit. The other stock is a repro as well. Older nicer one though. All of it is priced as the real deal unfortunately.

Added some pics of two holster rigs- original

and one repro and one original stock. HTH

20190120_1625371.jpg

20190120_1626061.jpg

20190120_1627231.jpg

Edited by johnsonlmg41

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Robert, 1917 leather, no I don't believe it. While the leather has a large grain making it appear old, the stitching looks fairly new, the leather would of had a much finer grain to it and you would see much darker patina and a smooth polished look showing wear. This appears to be some kind of reproduction. But hey, for the price, (if it stays there) it would be ok to use in my opinion. The photos are really not that great either. I defer to other opinions.

MH