Thompson Finishes

I was reading the thread on WWII finishes and wanted to interject a finding of mine. I have a late 1928A1, which has all the late features. It is an as manufactured gun with matching serial number receiver and lower. As a little background I am a Chemical/Metallurgical Engineer and have many years experience in the metals casting and finishing area. I wanted to begin a restoration on my 28A1 but first wanted to confirm the factory finish coatings. At first glance I assumed the upper and lower receivers were phosphate coated "Parkerized". However, after microscopic examination of the surfaces there was no evidence of the characteristic zinc or manganese/iron phosphate grain structure always found with zinc or manganese phosphate coatings. The "Parkerized" gray appearance is the result of the parts being sand blasted prior to "caustic bluing" or "Duliteing" or "black oxide". This process produces a matte gray finish, which has the outward appearance of Parkerizing but lacks the amorphous crystalline structure of zinc or manganese phosphate coatings. Many manufactures have used a brushed or blasted metal surface to produce a non or low reflective surface finish. Most military S&W pistols have one of these two finishes. If any of you have an early original finish S&W Victory 38 it will have a like finish. After examining all the various parts on my 28A1 I am 99.9999% sure that there are no Parkerized parts. They are all blued with a caustic bluing process sans any flame bluing that may have been done on small parts like extractors or springs. The various shades of blue, gray and blue/black are related to surface preparation and metallurgy.