Second Residence Question

This is probably gonna get a bunch of "stupid FNG" eyeball rolls, but we all gotta start somewhere...

If someone's a resident of a state prohibiting full-auto entirely (like People's Republic of WA), but has a "summer home" in a "full-auto-friendly" state (like, say, Nevada or Wyoming), and wanted to try for an NFA transfer to their "summer home" address, would it work with ATF? (Condition for this theoretical: the TSMG wouldn't leave the "summer home" state.)

Anybody have any ideas? I know, I'm gonna get the standard IANALs*, but I'm looking for general best-guesses from the BTDTs**.

(desperately praying for some legislation imparting sanity in WA weapons regs, like maybe a C&R exception added to the bans the Seattle-area Commies have imposed on my once-proud state)

Thanks much!

nedry OUT

*I Am Not A Lawyer

**Been There Done That

Hi nedry,

Dual residency can be established by having a DL in one state and an ID card in the other. It would be best to get your DL in the state where you will be paying taxes and voting. The ID card in the other state will establish your residency and allow you to do everything you need to do in the other state except drive. Requirements are different in every state, so check with several professionals and/or agencies to get the entire story. Don't be surprised if you get a lot of disinformation along the way. Make sure you have all the bases covered before you get into it(ie:drivers liscence in primary state, ID card in secondary state, car registration and inspection stickers, voter registration, insurance, state and federal income taxes, carry permits, and CLEO sign off or corporation for C3s). I am a dual resident and have been issued resident carry permits in both of my states. BTDT

Carey

Some FAQ from ATF's website.

(B12) What constitutes residency in a state? [back]