Violin Case For My Tommy?

Dink:

Welcome to the boards.

To answer your question: yes and no. I assume you are familiar with the currently commercially available Kahr "guitar" case made for the longer bbl'd semi auto guns. Blah.

I have seen few actual violin cases. I have one I made myself from an Ess and Ess 30's vintage violin case:

http://www.darklightimagery.net/thompson/thompsonweb.jpg

There have also been some other custom cases made from wooden "coffin" style violin cases (maybe viola, I am no musician). I have attached an example below. These were nice because, unlike my case for my vertically gripped Thompson, you didn't have to remove the foregrip to make it fit. I have invested in several coffin cases, but none were big enough for this, so it is a crap shoot when you buy one (unless you can test the fit first, difficult if you're eBaying one...).

I suggest your best bet it to fasion one yourself. With the proper sized case, it wouldn't cost much.

customecase.jpeg

Dink--

Here's one on ebay. Looks like a custom job that would fit the full auto.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...3689511175&rd=1

Sgt Dink,

That has been on Ebay for about 2 weeks, he lowered the starting bid price $20. My main problem with it is it appears with the lid closed that drum will really put some whack on the receiver. If the case is for other than display, I have also been advised by folks on this board that violin (or viola) cases are made for only a very few pounds, not the 20lbs. of a Tommy, drums and mags and one might find their TSMG scattered about thier feet at an in opportune moment, if there ever was one. So be careful and choose well.

Mark

Mark:

Good points. Though my Ess & Ess case is as old as a 1928, the handle is very hearty. Also, the drum can be a problem (especially the key hitting the side of the receiver). I stratigically placed my leather holding straps to as to pad the two. Works pretty well...

Oh, i could have some fun with this.