I've been shooting my Savage '28 for ten years or so and never had a bad time. I like my Thompson and thought I was having a good time. I read a post awhile back that eluded to the '21. It stuck with me to the point that I managed to scrounge up a Colt 1921 buffer/actuator set-up. I shot the thing yesterday for the first time. Thus, WOW. It is a totally different gun. It's going to be difficult taking these parts out of the gun. I'm thinking it ain't going to happen. Well, there goes a 50% increase in my 45 ammo outlay.

If you have one and you haven't , you should.

Bob D

Another guy hooked on speed! http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/wink.gif

Bug,

I agree completely. I put the 1921 setup into my '28A1 and really like the way it performs. It is a little harder to get two and three round bursts. Keep this in mind if you are competing in the pepper poppers at the TCA shoot in August. Other than that, I love the 1921 setup.

Roger

Has anybody here ever milled down a WWII actuator, in effect giving the same weight and performance as a '21 without using original '21 parts?

TSMGguy,

My (registered) conversion 27A1 full-auto has a milled down M1 bolt in it. It has had 1/10 of an inch removed from it to fit in the gun. Also, it has had a slot cut in it for the regisered firing pin.

With all of this weight missing, it shoot about 950 rounds per minute in full-auto.

It is a blast to shoot! http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/smile.gif

Norm

I have one of PK`s 21 internal setups in my 21 and it works flawlessly...that was the first item I bought PK and judging by the quality, I have had Paul do two more major projects( a WH 28 remanufactoring and a Savage 28 rewat)....his work is great and so are the parts he sells... http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/wink.gif

QUOTE (adlake @ Jul 2 2005, 04:05 AM)
Bug-
    What setup did you get the hybred?-adlake