1919A4-7.62x51 Rounds/hour

Hi All,

I'm new at belt fed guns. I've got the opportunity to run my 1919 Inland sideplate 1919A4 for a group of interested shooters. My question is how much can I let them shoot it in about how much time.

My plan was to put together 100 round belts. I don't want to damage the firearm. Would a 100 round belt every 5 minutes allow enough time for cooling?

As I mentioned I've no experience in shooting the 1919 more than a few brief bursts. They seem robust. I set the headspace and timing and it ran all of my test ammo w/o a hiccup.

Thanks,

Grasshopper

Several years ago I started using an infrared thermometer to get a read on barrel heat. Depending on the ambient air temperature and wind conditions, barrel heat (and cool-down time) can vary quite a bit. I try not to let mine get over 180 degrees.

Good point. There was an episode of Lock n Load in which Gunny Ermey used an infra-red thermometer to compare M1917 and M1919 barrel temps. I don't remember the numbers but the difference was huge. It might be worth a look. I don't remember if it was the MG1 or MG2 episode.

Edited by StrangeRanger

I guess you have never been to Knob Creek. Buy a blaster barrel or two and have fun. There is not much you can hurt. that cant be replaced.

Edited by sherman3

I grease my internals and the barrel where it goes into the booster then cut it loose. Ill run a 250 round belt via bursts or one long burst then let the gun cool. When Im letting it cool off Ill pull the barrel out the back to both make the gun safe AND let it cool quicker.

First off I apologize for my smart ass response to your question in my earlier post. Make sure you understand head space and timing and make sure that both are set properly. If you are just giving some friends the full auto belt fed experience I would give them 50 rds at a time. I would not be afraid to shoot 4 belts [1,000rds] before letting it cooldown.

Hi All,