Just Bought My First Thompson...

Hi...I Just bought what I thought was the only option available to me a Kahr 1927 A-1 ....I havent got a chance to fire it yet but will this week....I'm already a little nervous after reading several posts regarding Kahrs reliabliity...I guess I'll find out.

My question is how hard is it to dig up a Thompson manufactuered before 1950? ...Are there any internet or paper subscriptions I should be looking at?.......And assuming I come across one can I even own it?....I live in MA and don't have a machinegun (full-auto) permit...... If purchasing an older one is impossible......I would at least like to change the barrel on the Kahr to a normal length so my last question is: Does the paper work I need to fill out have anything to do with the state I live in and type of gun permit I have or is it just federal red tape? Sorry for all the possibly stupid questions but I'm new to Tommy Gun world.

You've got quite a lot of questions, but that's OK, and no, they're not stupid...if you don't ask you'll never know.

"How hard is it to find a pre-1950 TSMG?" Not too hard. The hardest part is coming up with the money. You can probably expect to pay anywhere from a low of $5000 on up...the sky's the limit on rarer TSMGs, especially if they have any historical provenance. A couple of good places to start your search would be here, and the NFA Sale board at subguns.com. Don't forget to network either. You never know who has what stashed in their closet. One of my neighbors has a registered DEWAT TSMG that was dewatted back in the 1950s by hammering a wooden dowel into the barrel. VFW halls can sometimes be a place to find transferrable MGs too. (Taken to the extreme, I suppose you could always cruise the local retirement homes... J/K.)