Ultrasonic Cleaning Of Drums?

Pat,

I am not an expert on ultrasonic cleaners but I understand the use of this type device removes all lubrication from a product. This is not a good thing for firearm drums and magazines. Metal objects require some lubrication to function properly (and to insure longevity). Lubrication does not mean dripping wet with oil or grease. In the case of magazines, lubrication is needed only in the pores of the metal - especially in the inside of the magazine. Magazines can be easily disassembled, cleaned, very lightly lubricated and reassembled. The complete disassembly/re-assembly of a drum is more difficult. The problem one faces after a part is cleaned in an ultrasonic cleaner is re-lubrication. If you miss re-lubricating an area, something easy to do with a drum, the result more than likely will be rust. I would suggest a good complete cleaning using conventional methods, i.e., Hoppes NO 9, brush and cotton cloth, followed by a light wipe down with oily cloth, and then a final wipe down with a clean cloth to remove all excess lubrication. This will insure cleanliness and lubrication for functionality and preservation. Obviously, each situation is different and the ultrasonic cleaning of a part may be the best way to go in some circumstances. However, I would not think this type of cleaning would be safest way to clean a firearm, drum or magazine after normal use – unless you really know what you are doing and can re-apply lubrication over the entire item.