Questions About Preservation of a Very Early Thompson

Hello All,

New to the forum. Hope you'll bear with me and direct me to a different discussion if it applies.

I work in law enforcement and have been tasked to look at preserving and displaying the proper way, a very early Thompson in our possession.

Its a "MODEL OF 1921" serial "NO 133".

Because I've been asked before, lol. No that's not a typo. The serial number is correct.

Given its potential monetary value, but more importantly its historical value as it was presented to our department new from the manufacturer, we are looking to make sure it is taken care of. Also why I'm reluctant to just field strip it and clean it.

Its currently on display behind glass in our agency but is starting to develop some surface rust. so looking to get in touch with someone who knows how to do a museum quality preservation and display.

Contacted Cody Firearms Museum but haven't heard back yet.

Any thoughts on who I could contact for further would be appreciated.

Thanks

I use 0000 steel wool with a small amount of R.E.M. Oil to gently remove surface rust. Use light pressure and the surface rust should remove easily. Field stripping is simple and should be in your handbook. If you don't have a handbook with the gun, you can do a google search for "field stripping a model 1921 Thompson" and it should produce videos and written directions with pictures. Most of the Thompson collector books also have instructions and pictorials for field service. Edited by 1921A

Brown,

You came to the right place to find all the info you seek. First...

Where are you / your Thompson located? Could be a very knowledgeable member here might live close by and drop in on you on your invite, and offer all the advise and expertise in disassembly of your gun.

Next , Get some oil on that gun! and gently remove the rust.