Rarest Thompson

Posting from the Sturmgewehr.com NFA guns ads:

"WTS West Hurley Auto Ordinance Thompson M1A1 in 98% Plus Condition. Only 609 were made before the ATF halted production making them the Rarest of Thompsons. (Thanks to ChrisNH for that info.) The ATF has given this gun C&R Status. Photos on request to serious buyers only please. $12,000."

I'm not a Thompson expert but I guess one could look at Thompson variants a number of ways. However, no way do I see West Hurley Auto Ordnance (cite above is sellers spelling) Thompson M1A1 as the "Rarest of Thompsons" as is contended. My guesses (and open to correction) would be for model, the 1919 with about 40 having been made, and for variation, the 1985 Vietnam War Commemorative WH '28 with 17 having been made made. Maybe even fewer of the 9 mm and .22 cal '28 WH's were made, I've not seen production figures. I'm not considering the BSA, and prototype stainless steel and aluminum receiver guns.

Have I missed something?

I'm not greedy....not buying OR selling!

Ad says "Serious Buyers Only".....guess I'm not serious either http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/laugh.gif

Wait!

At the mention of Curtis Earl, I remember I have a catalog from him sent to me in 1973(?).......has the MGM collection in it, as well as a COLOR brochure of the Midas Thompson (with a sky-high price of $6000.00!!!!)

Maybe I can auction these brochures/pieces of history off........

Should I start the bid at $12,000.00????

Hahahahahahahaaaaaa!!! http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/wink.gif

Guess I won't sell these after all.......

john (not-greedy) http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/rolleyes.gif

Actually I have one of the RAREST Thompsons. First would be a Colt 1927 of which there were (Correct me and flame guys an unknown total of about 75 made, of which maybe 33 survived to be transferable).