Semi Auto From A M1a1 Parts Set?

Hello,

This is my first post on this forum and I was wondering if there is anyone here that has built a semi auto Thompson out of a parts set? I have been considering this for a while but have never pulled apart and examined a commercial semi auto thompson so I do not know a semi auto reciever differs from a full auto one other than it needing to fire from a closed bolt and needing a positive disconnect.

I am a more than capable machinist so the fabrication/modification of the required parts will not be a problem.Any advice Or hints on how to go about this or where to turn to find out would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

The FA lower will not fit on a semi upper. And if you did, you must have a ,I think it's a class 2 manufacturers license. Or it's old wedding bells for Bubba in the pokey. See the post on building a dummy gun. I believe the same will apply. In other words, don't do it. Buy a semi gun and put the old wood on it, and maybe do a short barrel. I don't want to chase you off like some will try. But it's a no-no.

Didn't Devlins project X gun (built by PK) use a full auto lower frame? The selector had the bolt hold open feature. As long as you don't use any of the full auto receiver parts (once a machine gun, always a machine gun). I'd say talk to PK there must be an acceptable way to build the thing the way he did.

Dan

This has been covered ad naseum on the boards and (if it isn't already) ought to be included in the FAQ. There are a host of legal issues to be dealt with as well as a number of logistical and engineering issues to overcome.

First: the logistical/mechanical side... There are a number of critical dimensions that differ between the semi-auto 1927A1 rifles and the full-auto machineguns. This is a design feature intended to preclude the ready use of full-auto parts and to assuage the fears of those policy-making career bureaucrats in Washington.