M2 Parts in M1 Carbine. Legality?

Good Evening everyone,

I recently took apart my M1 Carbine and thoroughly inspected each part. Its a mixmaster gun that was put together at some point using a variety of different manufacturer parts. Upon closer inspection, I have found that the slide is a type 6 slide with the milling to allow for the disconnector lever, the hammer is an m2 hammer, and the trigger frame has the milling in the mag well to accomadate the selector spring. Of course there is no disconnector block with plunger spring, nor a selector with 9 spring, nor a disconnector lever. The stock does have the cutout for a selector, so my assumption is that at one point this gun was configured as an M2, but who knows.

My question is, Can I legally own these m2 parts even though it is configured as a Semi M1? I'm a novice when it comes to the M1/M2 carbines and i'm curious if i'm treading shady waters with these components installed and having the milling in the trigger frame for an m2 conversion. Thank you all for the help.

-Broadarrow

Yes , replace the hammer . NOT because it's illegal , but the M2 hammer without the disconnector does not fit right , it's too narrow .The "illegal " parts are the selector , 9-spring , M2 hammer , disconnector , disconnector spring , rocker arm assembly , and M2 sear . All must be present to be illegal ( that's why sellers are always short at least one piece , if they had it , they'd be selling MGs ) . M2 stock , M2 slide , M2 triggerguard are all needed but are not counted as parts in the " kit " .

it does not have to make sence , it's the law .

Chris

Upon further investigation, the hammer is not an m2 hammer because it does lack the machining to accommodate the disconnect or block and plunger. Thank you all for the help, these m1s Are pretty cool just looking at all the different parts. Actually pretty fun deciphering which variant each part is. Crazy how the m2 was such a quick and easy conversion from my understanding.