Recent Purchase: M1 converted to M2

Hi All,

I'm new to the class 3 world and I just purchased an M2 for my first FA firearm. It's an IBM M1 converted to an M2 with a registered trigger group. I was looking for something I could shoot and not be afraid of breaking, which is why I went with one registered by the trigger group. I paid $6900 without including the tax stamp, which I think was a fair price. I know I'm several months away from obtaining the firearm fully but I was wondering what you all do for ammunition. It seems like the CMP doesn't have much for cheap bulk ammo anymore. I know with it being a straight cased hull ammo is probably best reloaded. Is there a particular brand which is best for loading? As I'm new to this realm of firearms all tips and advice are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jeff

Jeff,

Welcome to the board!

An M1 Carbine was my first rifle, and the first caliber I started reloading 30 years ago. The cases require lubricating, unless someone makes a carbide die, which is very possible at this point. I used Bonanza .30 Carbine dies. I don't recall any reloading issues, though it's been many years since I've reloaded this caliber. My cases were a mix of USGI and Remington.

Don't know if this helps at all, but it's my $.02...

David Albert

dalbert@sturmgewehr.com

Hi Jeff,

The most important thing to remember when loading carbine ammo is to measure each case after resizing and trim when necessary.

So a dial caliper and case trimmer should be high on your list. Failure to trim can result in a bolt failing to lock, but firing. Receiver damage will result.

Any commercial or US military cases will work fine.

A year ago I was experimenting with a medium powered load so I could shoot the carbine on steel plates without damaging them. I used a 110 gr Berry plated bullet and 7 gr Unique. Velocity 1600 FPS . I fired 60 shots with one failure to feed.

If such a load works in your M2 it would be easy on both the barrel and receiver.