My First Thompson

I bought a 1921AC a few months ago. It was on a Form 4, so had to go to my SOT. Once it gets there, I'll do the pw to transfer to me. My other mg's took 11 months; suspect this will be the same. My SOT lets me fire my pending transfer guns on their range. Did so with my S & W 76 (which ran well), and my Reising M50 (multiple stoppages).

Want to shoot the Thompson as well. Will it feed from a WW2 drum? How about a Kahr C drum? Forgive me for asking if this is covered in FAQ; I'm new to Thompsons and this board. I'll soon join collector groups and learn more about this fascinating firearm (which has been on my bucket list since 1965).

Welcome and yes, a 1921AC can use WWII drums and also Kahr drums. I don't have a Kahr drum, but apparently some work fine and others do not.

Many have had better results with the Taiwan-made C drums sold currently by several vendors such as Numrich Arms. They have new L drums as well.

Do you know about C&R FFLs? They are simple and inexpensive to obtain and can save several months (and a dealer fee) in a transfer. A C&R holder can receive a C&R firearm (all three smgs you mention are usually C&R if the Form 4 still lists the original manufacturer) directly from a Transferor, even one who is out of state.

Consider getting The Ultimate Thompson Book and American Thunder, really good books.

Hope you get your Reising working properly.

I use a trust, but i use my C&R to get it to me quicker, then transfer it to my trust....with the new Efile system it doesnt save that much time if its on a form 3 at a dealer already...they are typically about a 10 day transfer to your dealer.....a C&R takes 4-6 weeks to get, costs almost nothing and could have gotten the gun in your hands quicker...if you collect ww2 pistols you can also get the guns shipped direct to your house and save dealer fees....1 transfer of a handgun and you paid for your C&R