Ao 1928ac Overstamp

I'm still new to the Thompsons and need some feedback from the board. There are several folks here that provide a great deal of wonderful info and I am in need of some help.

I just spoke with an individual who has a Bridgeport AO model 1928A for sale that was overstamped 1928AC. He is asking 15k. I threw several questions at the seller being:

Serial number: Which I got

Upper lower matched: he was not sure, but possibly mismatched

Finish (metal): states original

Mags available: 5-20 round and 5-30 round - no drums

Sling: No

Case: No

Wood: In good shape

How does it run: Hasn't fired the gun in a about a year, but it was stated there were problems with rounds not feeding properly. Not the best mags, as stated.

History: Owned it for 5 years, previous ower had it for about 30 years and hardly ever shot it.

Some of the questions I would like to ask the board, is:

Why the overstamp? Are these guns reassembled using spare parts? Why overstamp from a model 1928A to model 1928AC..?

Is this gun worth the price or should I be looking elsewhere..?

Thanks for your input.

Bosco

bosco,

I think you are somewhat confused about the nomenclature. It is the 1921 Colt TSMG's that were overstamped with and 8 over the 1, and then most were stamped U.S. Navy. The Bridgeport TSMG you are interested in is a 1928A1. The "C" (civilian) was probably added for sale to a police department at some point. There are no Thompson's stamped 1928A. As far as the $15K price tag? It is not out of line considering some M1/M1A1's are going for $12K-$13K. But for $15K you must go and see this gun in person to check out the details, and perhaps waste a mag on it.

1 - The price is a bit too high.

2 - If a person is unable to tell if the upper and lower numbers match it makes me wonder just what other BS they are telling you. My god, how difficult is it to remove the buttstock. http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/rolleyes.gif