Bren MkI Dented Case Mouths

Hi All,

I'm new to the Bren Gun. I'm running an old 1940 Inglis on Privi 150SP and 180 FMJ. It runs nicely on gas setting "1" (smallest dot). I'm getting about 2 out of 3 case mouths dented inward. I'd like to reload the brass 1 or 2 times. Is there any way to reduce the number of dented case mouths?

Another topic: Does anyone shoot the steel case Wolf with the bi-metal case. I think this is just steel case with a copper wash. Thoughts?

BTW, the gun is fun to shoot. Only rim-locked one magazine. I really like how small it gets when you remove the barrel. It fits right into a rather short case.

Thanks,

Grasshopper

Hi All,

I'm new to the Bren Gun. I'm running an old 1940 Inglis on Privi 150SP and 180 FMJ. It runs nicely on gas setting "1" (smallest dot). I'm getting about 2 out of 3 case mouths dented inward. I'd like to reload the brass 1 or 2 times. Is there any way to reduce the number of dented case mouths?

Another topic: Does anyone shoot the steel case Wolf with the bi-metal case. I think this is just steel case with a copper wash. Thoughts?

BTW, the gun is fun to shoot. Only rim-locked one magazine. I really like how small it gets when you remove the barrel. It fits right into a rather short case.

Thanks,

Grasshopper

You may try fitting the brass catcher bag onto your gun.

That may help keep the casings from bouncing off the front of the trigger guard.

Richard

Hi All,

I'm back. It is a 1940 Inglis C&R. Runs like a top. I put 250rnds of 150gr SP thru it on Monday w/o a hick-up.

I'd like to find a brass catcher. I've not been able to find one. IMA is out of them. I do remember seeing them but at the time I had no Bren.