What's "good enough"?

How often does your sten fail to feed?

"Failure to feed" includes stove-pipes, jams, failure to strip off a round, or anything else that prevents a bang when the trigger is pulled. I'm getting about 1 per magazine, regardless of which mag or what bullet weight I use. I know the sten was a hastily-constructed weapon of war, but I've got a 1919A4 that hasn't jammed since I got it a decade ago. I'm new to the Brit world of warfare, so I'm not sure what's to be expected.

If the gun is "original" it should run better than that. Hard to diagnose from your description but problems appear to be almost always magazine related. I have also seen "weak" ammo cause failure to clear the ejection port. I have had several STEN MKII and one MK V guns and as long as good mags and ammo was on hand, they run well. Happy to try to figure out the problem if you can get more details......

Ammo plays into the scenario more than with other SMG's, in my opinion. Magazines are the first place to look, but if you're consistently seeing the issue with different mags, you may want to try different ammunition. Also, as Roscoe Turner stated, some failures are shooter induced, if you hold onto the magazine.

David Albert

dalbert@sturmgewehr.com

Hi 2ndArmored,

I've a bunch of Stens and they are all excellent runners. When shot in competition, I cocked the gun at the start of the day and lowered the bolt at the end of the match when I put it away. I work hard to never pull the trigger on an empty chamber. Tactical mag changes are much faster w/o messing with the bolt. In other words, they run 100% if set-up correctly.