WARNING! R. Wagner on Gunbroker

I have never done this before, but after myself and a good friend of mine

had problems I figured I'd warn my fellow Thompson enthusiasts about

"R. Wagner" who advertises and sells Thompson parts at very low prices

on Gunbroker..

R. Wagner, who's name appears to be "Diego" on his emails is directly

or indirectly selling Thompson parts which get shipped from the Russian

Federation. He uses Paypal and Western Union to receive payment.

The problem is that all of his parts are advertised as being "New" or

"New Old Stock" condition, when in fact many of the parts are badly

rusted. He sells the parts "as-is" with no returns accepted, but it would

not be possible to return them anyway since he is is Russia.

Here is one of his Gunbroker auctions

Wagner.jpg

Below are pictures of two actuators and a safety lever. These were represented

as "New Old Stock". Note that the ball knob of the one actuator is so badly rusted

that it has lost its shape!

I have purchased two batches of parts from "Diego" and I would say about

half of them were rusty when they were degreased. I confronted "Diego" with

the fact that the parts wer not "New Old Stock". He is profusely polite, kind, and

cooperative in his emails, the bottom line is - you are stuck with the parts.

Caveat Emptor

Bob

IMG_9696.JPG

IMG_9698.JPG

IMG_9700.JPG

• Upvote 1

Bob,

I agree with mgvince. Purchasing anything overseas is a gamble. That said, I would not hesitate to leave negative feedback espousing much of what you have relayed to this forum on gunbroker.com. That way potential future customers will know the dangers with this seller. Those are ugly parts!

Thank you for your post.

I've fewer good results than bad when dealing with overseas sellers. His nickel plated M1 bolt appears to be rusty as well. At first I thought it was old grease.