Current Prices For M-14

newtommygunner

I seem to see m-14 prices all over the place.they don't seem to popular on this forum, although i've been a m-14 fan since my military days i havn't the faintest what a ex example of a converted springfield is worth. any help appriciated. tks mike

Hi, Mike,

I assume we're talking about original USGI M14s. All are classified as machine guns, even though 90% were produced without the selector switches installed. The few avialable are transferable machineguns, and are very rare. You'd be looking at $20K and right on up, for an original gun.

Other legal original M14s are from Phoenix Arms and Hahn Machine Tool Co. Both are rewelds, and the Phoenix guns are full auto, with selectors. The Hahn M14s are semi auto only and do not require transfer, as they do not fall under NFA rules. The Hahn guns have the reputation of being quality rewelds. I have no knowledge about the Phoenix rewelds in this regard. I've seeen Hahn rewelds recently in the $6K range, and guns from Phoenix at just over $10K.

A few years back, MKS of Grafton, W. Va., did high quality semi auto M14 rewelds, using Hahn's prior approval. The BATF ruled that these guns were machineguns, and I understand that they were confiscated from their owners, who forfeited the receivers but were allowed to keep the rest of the parts.

I've also seen transferable full auto M14s from the "new" Springfield Armory, but these are few and rare, and were all made before 1986.

Original, uncut, transferable M14s are rare to the point that they are among the Grails of gun collecting. I wish that I could find one!

Hope that this helps.

• Upvote 1

Hi, Mike,

I assume we're talking about original USGI M14s. All are classified as machine guns, even though 90% were produced without the selector switches installed. The few avialable are transferable machineguns, and are very rare. You'd be looking at $20K and right on up, for an original gun.