New member seeking advice on market value for 1928 Savage British Proo

I am a newbie to the Machine Gun Board, but have been a proud owner of a Thompson Model 1928 Savage for 38 years. When I first acquired the gun, I took it out and shot it frequently. In recent years the gun has remained in the gun safe and not seen action, so I decided to pull it out of the safe to reacquaint myself, do some research on the genre of the gun and to get a handle on relative “market correct” value.

Two books have been mentioned very positively on the Board so I have ordered them and waiting for their arrival: 1) “Great Britain – The Tommy Gun Story” and 2)“American Thunder III”. In the meantime, I thought I would reach out to the group for comments regarding my particular Thompson (1928 Savage made - British Proof) as well as guidance on market values from those who might have insight.

Background: My Thompson was purchased from a Class III dealer in the southeast (ERMCO - Pony Maples). The gun was presented as a 1928 “British Proof” Savage Thompson (and the bill of sale lists that as well). It has been so long that I don’t recall details regarding my gun’s history or story if it had one. Unfortunately, Mr. Maples passed away years ago so I am unable to ask for his assistance.

The serial number is a Savage production in the 71,000 range (upper and lower receiver have matching numbers). It has the “GEG” inspector markings and British crown stamp at the forward end of the receiver. There is a “P” on the flange of the barrel at the 12:00 o’clock position where the barrel screws into the receiver and other markings on the top side of the barrel between the fins and Cutts Compensator.