Savage 1928A1 on Gun Broker

Im no expert but it looks refinished to me, there are scores under the finish that I think shouldn't be there on an original finish. I was also looking at S473018 so almost 3000 units before the gunbroker gun and it has the simple 'L' back sight not the Lyman adjustable as the gunbroker gun has. Was there a set change over or was it random?

They will get a good price on this one, it's pretty.

Great looking gun, and I suppose it's not a totally ridiculous "buy it now" price, but I agree with m3bobby it looks refinished, I would not have expected that adjustable sight either and when did they go to the smooth barrel?

What about the witness marks on the side oh the barrel/receive- I didn't know they put these on military Thompson's .

Also- do the marks on the top of the barrel look correct?

I sure wood like to hear from Roscoe on this gun.

Certainly a nice piece!

I have to say I think it has been refinished. The barrel and receiver have an identical surface appearance which is strange to me as I would expect the barrel to be more "polished" than the receiver. The Cutts compensator looks to have been lightly blasted and just doesn't have the smoothness of even the Russian parts kits. The top side nose of the receiver on each side looks to have had light pitting too.

I feel like I'm being over critical but also agree with the above comments that this one most likely came with a smooth barrel and L sight.

I wouldn't kick her out of my safe but don't think this is an original finish survivor. Possibly a really nice piece that someone did a little prep to in spots, bead/soda blasting, maybe a little acid here or there and then into the DuLite tank. I like the numbers matching, transferable, etc but don't think it is a 28k Thompson.

TC

Edited by ThompsonCrazy

I agree, this is a nice gun, but it has been refinished. The finish is too perfect and uniform and there are