M16 Serial Number Question

I have a similar gun about 100 numbers off yours. These guns are likely early Colt 604's or 614's before Colt designated the model numbers. The fact that they are not marked U.S. Property tends to lean them to the very 1st police and civilian guns available. However I have heard that some of the early guns that went overseas to Vietnam advisers, the air force and a few other countries were also not U.S.property marked so it may be impossible to know where the gun was first issued. I am by no means an expert on this subject as these guns are not my specialty.

Here are a few pics of mine, I'm guessing that yours has similar characteristics. A 605 upper, 20" barrel with early 3 prong muzzle. Post some pictures of yours and we can compare, these are actually pretty rare guns, it would nice to see another one like mine.

Mike H.

AR15  L. Side.jpg

AR15 r.side.jpg

AR R.Side full.jpg

The person that sold me the rifle stated that very low 15,000 serial number guns were issued to the Air Force. I carried a M16 in Vietnam and wanted a gun from the late 60's.It is my understanding that US property marked rifles are almost impossible to buy. I paid $24,000 two month ago and from talking to various collectors that is the going price. The model number is a 604 for 15,000 serial numbers.

Edited by drmustang66

• 5 months later...

post-206-0-84350200-1562628143_thumb.jpgpost-206-0-99044500-1562627809_thumb.jpg

Here is my best friend during Desert Shield/Storm, Colt M16 (not A1) serial # 313135. Carried/lived with her for seven months and never chambered a round! Note the luxurious USAF living accommodations. 31st Medical Group.

While over there I had in my hands (fondled) Colt serial # 00009. It was assigned to the 1st Medical Group.

• 2 months later...