Thompson Drums

Howdy guys....need some help here....does anyone have any pics of the L drum?? inside and out...need good pics to see what mines missing...i'm new to drums..so i'll need some help....i don't think its missing much....any help would be great...Thx

PS...ALL the thompson parts should be here monday and/or tuesday

Here's the inside of two of my "L" drums. First is a WH "L" and the other is the Bridgeport.Click on the underlined and it will take you to a larger photo.

http://mikesmachineguns.homestead.com/files/50rd_Inside1.JPG http://mikesmachineguns.homestead.com/files/1Bridgeport_insides.jpg

West Hurley 50 round "L" Drum

Bridgeport "L" Drum insides

The photo of the drum reflects there is no hole in the center of the shaft, but a tit sticking up like a late AO drum. What makes you think its a Bridgeport?

i was told by the guy it came from that it was missing most of the internals...when it got here...its complete!! all thats missing is the key.....its an AO bridgeport L drum in great shape....

theres no pics of my drum posted..mine is a bridgeport "L" for 1928..stamped all over it...i bought me a new key from kahr..20 something bucks...i'll find an original key cheaper than sarco has them....so far i've got 20 something bucks in my drum..lol....

Your $20 Kahr key may not work.

There are two different rotor shafts and key arrangements. The new production drums use a solid rotor shaft with a male projection to engage the key, the old ones use a hollow shaft, female socket to engage the key.

PK is right - the key Kahr sells for $ 20.00 is not the key that fits the non-Kahr or early AO drums.

That's the reason Sarco is able to get $99.95 for their keys. The Kahr key will go on - and hold nothing! Just wait till you start to fire the gun.. the key falls off. I went thru the same thing, Kahr will lie to you and say they fit, and they do - just don't hold the cover on the drum.