Newbie With Questions

Last weekend I purchased a Kahr Arms Thompson 1927A-1, and I have a few questions. I checked the Kahr Arms site, and they don't have email support for the average person (only dealers), so I was hoping some of you could help. I am totally new to this messageboard and to the Thompson, but I have a little gun knowledge.

1. Is it ok to leave the "third hand" in the slot, or should it be removed when not needed to remove the drum magazine.

2. The manual states that the drum magazine key should not be turned more than the stated number of times printed on the magazine. If one accidentally turns it more than that amount of times, is there a procedure to safely release the pressure, or some other action that should be taken?

3. If you turn the drum magazine key without the magazine loaded will it damage the magazine?

4. Is Wolf .45 230 grain FMJ safe to shoot?

5. Kahr Arms (www.tommygun.com) advertises magazines for what seems to be incredibly high prices ($139 for a *10* round drum mag?? Sure it looks cool, but isn't that a little expensive for such a small amount of rounds?). Is there somewhere else to get Thompson magazines any cheaper? www.autoweapons.com seems to have some more reasonable prices, but will those magazines work with the Kahr Arms Thompson?

Thanks in advance for any information anyone may have!

Raphael:

Welcome!

Make sure to read over the FAQ at the top of the board. Some of your questions may be addressed there. I'll stab at a few of 'em.

2. The drum shouldn't be wound more than the stated number of clicks. You can damage the spring. The only way to release the tension is to shoot it or manually push the rounds out of the drum with your finger. Never disassemble a wound drum.

3. I don't think winding an empty drum would necessarily damage it, but why would you?