I'm new - AR drop-in sear and other fun stuff can I do?

pmcclain

Hello friends - I have a Colt SP-1 AR-15 with s a steel drop-in auto sear. I built it in the early 80's on a form 1. The lower receiver is registered not the drop in sear. I think I paid less than $700 for the new gun and less than $75 for the sear and other parts. Back then for me, that was a ton of money. I've taken it out a handful of times and shot it. It runs great. Recently I've gotten more interested in shooting and reloading so it has had more rounds put thru it in the past year then the previous 35.

I 'd like to buy a spare drop-in auto sear for parts. I have no access or knowledge to making one myself and I hope I never need any parts, mine looks just fine. But these things seem to be very rare. So do any of you know of a person that can make these? I sure would like to talk to them and have no problem with sending them my paperwork to show I'm legit and not trying to do something illegal.

Another dumb question, will other of the many caliber uppers function as select-fire on my registered lower? The bolt carrier's on the various uppers will they match-up with my sear? One of the modifications I had to do on my AR-15 as you all know, was change the bolt carrier to a M-16 type.

We all have said it many times....If I only knew back then what was going to happen with these things we would be very wealthy people. I just recently learned a M11 that I paid $400 for is now worth $8K!

Interesting tax stamp situation. The lower and not the "drop in" being stamped. Opens many $lucrative$ doors? Also some legality questions if stuff separated. Probably the best thing you can do at this point is write the BATFE and ask them. Be prepared to wait. Strange things happened back then regarding what was tax stamped.