L Type Drum Needs Fixing

Newbie here.

Found an old l type drum by auto-ordnance corp in the attic. WWII vintage. Spring doesn't seem to work.

1. Who can help me fix it without detarcting from its value?

2. Is it better selling as is or fixing?

3.- What would its value be?

Many thanx

Either Merle or PK either do great work. I hear that Merle is magic with the spring problems. If you don't want to fix it email me and I could use another drum. I have to get back to the 8 drum Mike statis.

Read the FAQ at the top of the board. All contact info is listed there.

The drum is actually an earlier pre-WWII drum. Be careful with this guy, I bought this same drum on auction on Gunbroker (item number 11943556) and paid $900 for it. The drum was described to be in mint almost new condition. It is far from the advertised condition. Major problems with the drum:

1. Feedlips are bent and have been filed down

2. Spring is broken

3. Retains only 50% finish

4. Some pitting on drum key

5. Major dents

6. Several deep scratches in the metal including on the rotor

7. Rotor has virtually none of the original nickel finish and is dark brown

8. Heavy cartridge marks inside

When I returned the drum to the seller, he blamed me for the broken spring (despite the fact that it didn't work when I received it, I never even attempted to wind the drum, and it was nowhere near the "almost new" condition it was adverstised as being in). The seller is now refusing to give me a refund and is trying as hard as he can to screw me out of my $900. In the condition it is in, you guys wouldn't want to have more then the cost of a dented cover plate and pitted winding key in it. This drum is completely unservicable and would require extensive work to restore. He is intentionally trying to defraud me out of my money, and I would strongly recommend that you guys be VERY careful in dealing with Amancay and Wentworth LLC in NC (they are one and the same).

Sincerely,

George R.

OBI