Inexpensive Thompson

"Inexpensive Thompson" That's a good one!

Sorry Joe but that has become an oxymoron. If your selling, Full Auto 45 has a standing offer of 10k.

If your buying and lucky you might find a West Hurley Thompson 'replica' for a minimum of 12k. WW2 models starting at 15K. I'm sure others will be happy to opine, or bloviate.

Welcome to the board.

QUOTE (John Jr @ Nov 30 2005, 05:29 PM)
You can get those ugly Kahr lookalike semi-auto non-working, pieces of shit for around $750.

Hey...my gun resembles that remark! http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Rob

Is Kahr the only company that makes Thompsons? Or is it possible and reasonably cost feasible to build one? I'm just looking for a semi-auto SBR. I've got some background in gunsmithing having taken some courses during the summer in Trinidad, CO; I'm going to spending my whole summer there in 2006. The thing is that the only time that I've spent with a Thompson was years ago when I was in Special Forces and even at that it was only in training. I've got no clue where to even start if I wanted to build one or where to get the blueprints to build it as a closed bolt semi-auto.

I'm also curious as to myriad of different models. Is there a good website that gives a breakdown with pics on them?

Thanks,

Robert

arch stanon,

Welcome to the Board!

You could probably buy a bar of the proper steel from Doug Richardson to mill a semi receiver, a barrel from where ever (a number of sources - see FAQ for Parts), and the semi internal parts from Kahr, but I rather strongly doubt that it would be a cost effective means of obtaining a SBR semi-auto Thompson. Note on the Phil Ord thread of the scarcity of Phil Ord and Pearl Thompsons. It was just not cost effective to make them.