Help ID M1

Looking at an AO Bridgeport M1 with a ss#33*,***, RIA proof mark, flaming pot mark, and a barrel band. Would Rock Island have rearsenaled these? Whats up with a barrel band on it? Could that be legitimate or does that make it suspect to being a reweld or something less desirable? Metal fnish looks too nice but wood looks appropriately used.

What would this be worth? 20k?

Does NFA paperwork list if it is C&R or no? Just says Auto Ordnance I think.

Im new at this so appreciate any insight.

Looking at an AO Bridgeport M1 with a ss#33*,***, RIA proof mark, flaming pot mark, and a barrel band. Would Rock Island have rearsenaled these? Whats up with a barrel band on it? Could that be legitimate or does that make it suspect to being a reweld or something less desirable? Metal fnish looks too nice but wood looks appropriately used.

What would this be worth? 20k?

Does NFA paperwork list if it is C&R or no? Just says Auto Ordnance I think.

Im new at this so appreciate any insight.

Welcome to the board! It sounds like you have a post war arsenal rebuilt gun. Rock Island did perform rebuilds and yours is marked as such. The foregrip band was added to the gun because of the weak riveted foregrip. It would help if you could post multiple photos of the gun for an accurate evaluation. Does the serial # on the side of the receiver match the serial number on the lower frame? Its usually obvious when a gun has been rewelded but again picture will help rule that out. You may want to pick up a book called American Thunder Military Thompson Submachine Guns by Frank Iannamico. Its for sale on eBay and other sites.

Yes its a C & R gun and is worth around 20K depending on condition etc.

Just looked at it further. Looks in good condition but I suspect reweld from possible marks around magwell area. Ill post some pics in a few. If reweld how much does that affect the value? No SS# on the lower.