Will an M1A1 bolt fit in a 1928A1 receiver?

Hello All,

I'm fairly new to the subgun collecting world. I already own an MP40 and purchased a couple of FBP bolts to run a fixed firing pin system in the gun. They work perfectly as long as I'm running hot ammo.

Now, at long last, I'm shopping for a Thompson. I'm leaning towards a 1928A1 model but wondering if I can run the M1A1 fix firing pin in a 1928A1 receiver?

I've purchased Iannamico's "American Thunder" book and as usual, was an excellent read and a great starting point for my Thompson education. But still don't know if I can run the fixed firing pin in a 1928A1. I'm waiting on the delivery of "the Ulitimate Thompson Book" by Tracie Hill. And of course, reading this form may be the best education as I find questions I haven't even thought about asking.

In any event, if someone owns a Thompson and has tried to do this and you care to share your experiences, it would be greatly appreciated.

Any other thoughts or advise for a Thompson newbie are always welcome.

Best regards,

Scott C.

Hi,

I'll give this a shot. Others will correct me.

Based on the 22RF conversion kits using a common bolt (aside from the cocking piece moving from side to top) I would think the M1A1 bolt would work in the '28. There is the issue of how to cock the M1A1 bolt in the '28 w/o some machine work.

Another issue might be that the recoil spring location on the '28 is different than the M1/M1A1. I don't have the numbers handy but that is something I noticed a few years back. I have no idea why it changed.

Now is this a good idea in 45? I'd think not as the '28 uses the blish lock and the M1/M1A1 does not have the blish lock. Folks can discuss the merits of the blish lock again if they like. Why is the m1 not that effected? The rear of the receiver on the M1/M1A1 is thicker and IIRC has larger radii (sp) to increase strength.

Hope this helps,

Grasshopper

Thanks for the info Grasshopper.