Verifying an "L" drum is an original New York Address drum

All,

While not new to guns, I'm new to Thompsons having recently purchased my first one (a Colt 1921) and am still waiting for the transfer to come through. I have the opportunity to purchase what has been represented as and appears to be a genuine 3rd Model New York "L" drum. I'm going to get to see and buy the drum in-person on Saturday. I've looked at the thread on magazines/drums and done a search and read all the threads I could find. Is there anything in particular I should look at or evaluate on the drum? Are there any repops of this drum out there, and if so, is there a way to distinguish an original from a repop?

Thanks in advance and excited to be part of the community.

All,

While not new to guns, I'm new to Thompsons having recently purchased my first one (a Colt 1921) and am still waiting for the transfer to come through. I have the opportunity to purchase what has been represented as and appears to be a genuine 3rd Model New York "L" drum. I'm going to get to see and buy the drum in-person on Saturday. I've looked at the thread on magazines/drums and done a search and read all the threads I could find. Is there anything in particular I should look at or evaluate on the drum? Are there any repops of this drum out there, and if so, is there a way to distinguish an original from a repop?

Thanks in advance and excited to be part of the community.