New member - finally got to shoot a Thompson!

Hi Guys,

This is Keith, I am a firefighter in south Florida who absolutely loves Thompsons! When I retire from the Fire Service in a little more than 3 years, my retirement gift to myself will be a WWII Thommy gun! I'm a big WWII buff and have owned at one time just about every semi-automatic weapon used in the conflict. My uncle was a WWII vet. He was a member of the 29th Division and landed on the Normandy coast 11 days post D-Day. He was a Bar Man for a few weeks when the regular guy was killed. He never used a Thompson in combat. I have a collection of WWII 8x10 photos taken by Combat photographers and have sent a few ones to Frank for Volume III. I believe two might make the book. I am anxiously waiting its publishing so I can get my copy. I have learned a lot from this Forum and there are many knowledgeable people posting here. There is a range in Miami where they rent machine guns so I went down yesterday and finally got to shoot my dream gun!! It was such a thrill to handle that gun. A few months ago, I bought a Dummy Thompson. Its a parts kit with a dummy receiver. What I found interesting was that it came with the foregrip band which means it was issued to the troops in the field ( after emailing Frank and with the info he sent me plus Canfields book on WWII weapons) This is my toy until I can get my real one. The bottom pic may make volume III.

I have attached the video and some pics of the gun. Some of you may have seen it on Gunbroker. I made a deal off line when it was relisted a few times.

gun5 - Copy.jpggun3.jpggun7.jpggun9.jpggun11.jpggun12.jpg

img361.jpg

Keith,

Nice shooting. Looks like you are already a good Thompson gunner.

Hope you someday realize your dream of owning the real thing.

If you need the cash from your pension to buy then I guess you'll just have to wait.

On the other hand if you have a little cash laying around then start looking now.