A Workout With Glen's Mag Anvil

So, a few weeks ago I used one of Glen Whittenberger's mag anvils to work over a bunch of f**ked off magazines a friend

of mine purchased from "What A Country". I think WAC must have sent him all the ones they had thrown in their RMA box,

because only about half worked at all, and all of them were rough and beat up.

I did, however, learn a lot about fixing these magazines and using Glen's anvil. And though I am not an expert by any means,

I will explain what I did, and others can comment and correct.

The picture below shows the anvil along with a modification I made to it at the bottom (which will be discussed in a bit).

http://catnipman.home.comcast.net/PicsforMagAnvilPost/sideviewofanvilshowingbottomplate.JPG

The idea is to slip the anvil inside the magazine and shape the lips against the anvil by hammering them against the anvil

with a brass hammer. This is shown below:

http://catnipman.home.comcast.net/PicsforMagAnvilPost/topofmagonanvil.JPG

Unfortunately, this usage does little to obtain two of the three principal lip dimensions necessary for the mag to function properly.

In a post quite some time ago, PK lists the three most important dimensions; namely, .22 inch lip radius, .55-.56 inch gap

between the lips, and the hole to lip-top measurement of 2.303 inches.

I measured the diameter of the top anvil elements and saw .444 inches, so the anvil will impart an interior lip radius

close to the .22 inches. I show a picture of this measurement below:

http://catnipman.home.comcast.net/PicsforMagAnvilPost/point22radiusmeasurement.JPG

However, without modification, the anvil isn't useful for gaging the other two dimensions. The following two pictures show

the gap measurement and lip-top to hole measurements respectively:

http://catnipman.home.comcast.net/PicsforMagAnvilPost/lipmeasurement.JPG

Lip-Top to Hole measurement (link used because max images exceeded)