Hi,

I'm new to the board and looking for some direction. My Girlfriends late Husband was a collector of fire arms. He obtained a number of class 3 weapons including a colt 614 rifle.

She has done the necessary forms required to place the weapon in her name and wants to market it. I have little to no knowledge of its value and research is scattered at best. The gun appears in good condition. Looks like he changed the upper out to something a bit shorter as well as the stock to an M4 style?

I did find the original diamond shaped handguard and barrel assembled in a box as well as the original stock.

I'm looking for ideas regarding buyers and value; I understand it's all subjective to condition but I need to start somewhere. The receiver is stamped: model 614

Thanks for any input you guys may have.

Dale

Photographs of the gun would help us give you a much more accurate idea of the possible price you might ask for or achieve. That being said any fully-transferable factory Colt full auto AR15/M16s are getting premium prices these days for some reason. Depending upon the condition of the gun and how many original parts are still with it, I would guess a price of at least 17K to 22K.

Mike Hammer

Dale: I have a very early Colt 614 in my collection. So early as not to be marked 614 simply Colt AR 15. In the 15000 serial number range. How many digits in your serial number, is in the 40 thousand range? Nice gun, I would be interested in buying it if I didn't already have one. The retro forum Robert mentions is where the experts on AR's hang out, I'm sure they would be very interested in seeing your gun.

Mike Hammer