Price for Average Condition Ithaca 37 Trench?

I am new to US Combat shotgun collecting, but leaning towards Ithaca 37 Trench. If I can find a real one, what king of price should I expect for a well used but working condition Ithaca? Vietnam era production would be okay as long as it is a U.S. military model.

I am looking at an Ithaca 37 that had the barrel shortened to 20 inches with a reproduction barrel/bayonet shroud installed and reparked and they want around 1500 dollars for this faux model.

Thank you.

Edited by NFA amnesty

That is high for a faux trench

You can get an NIB factory built copy for less.

https://www.inland-mfg.com/Inland-Shotguns/M37-Trench-shotgun.html

It's still not GI but it's probably the next best thing...and a whole lot less expen$ive

Appreciate the info, but his model is no longer available to purchase and of course no slam fire. Prices sure have gone through the roof on non NFA weapons right now.

There were two basic types of Ithaca Model 37 military contract trench guns. The first was the 1,422 trench guns manufactured in 1942. Genuine unaltered examples are very rare and can bring big bucks. A nice original example brought just over $44,000 at a December 2019 auction by Rock Island Auction Co. The other type was a relatively small number procured during the Vietnam era that differed from the WWII guns in several respects including a Parkerized finish (rather than blued), a different serial number range and different martial marking format. There were also some "commercial" (non-military) trench guns made during this same period with no martial markings (although some have had bogus markings subsequently applied), a different serial number range and have much less collector value than the Vietnam era military Model 37 trench guns. The later Model 37 trench guns will bring substantially less than the WWII trench guns.