First Post, Long Time Lurker, New Toy

Well I have frequented these forums a long time, but I finally figured it was time to post. What better way to start off on a new site than with a new toy. Thanks for all of the wonderful info about the stg 44. Just got this one last week.

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y144/jmivorm/toys/stg.jpg

I am green w/envy http://www.machinegunbooks.com/forums/invboard1_1_2/upload/html/emoticons/nutkick.gif

I am pretty new here as well. Must warn you - I am a devout fan of WWII German goods, but started hanging out here... got a copy of Mr. I's book (AT II), bought some magazines, trying to stay away from the replica Crosby's now. You know where it all leads.... This is a nice place - very civil compared to some!

Welcome to the club!

The MP 43/44 in what ever form/marking is a fun gun to shoot. I've been shooting one for 25 yrs.

Owned/shot my first on in the late 50s.

How are your magazines marked? Who made yours and when? Is it matching? If so I would suggest that you do what I did with my MP 43, get another bolt & op rod to use and don't take the chance of breaking the matching parts. I actually changed everything to non matching parts so the only thing original is the bbl & rec. Put the matching parts away. Course this is a much more expensive move now than it was 25 years ago, but the guns are also over 100 times more valuable (I paid $125.00 for mine).

Sarge

Sarge,

The mags marked mp44, and is a clear spray finish over bare metal with a makers mark of cxt.