Future Of High Capacity Magazines

CptCurl

Hello All,

We are all witnessing the mood of the nation intent on lynching gun owners because of the Sandy Hook Elementary School massacre. Certainly that event invokes visceral reactions in everyone, but I'm not posting a debate of that.

My question is, what happens to Class 3 collectors if high capacity magazines are outlawed (which seems highly likely at this writing)?

I am new to guns with magazines (except for "normal" handguns). Those of you who know me are aware that I am a hard-core double rifle collector. I never even owned a semi-auto rifle until buying a collectible M1 Garand a few years back. Now I have a nice TSMG and a nice Vector Uzi, with quite a few magazines for each.

For the past year I have been thinking of rounding out my Class 3 pursuits with an M16A1. I guess I should have done it a year ago, cause look at what the market has done in the meantime!

If I buy an M16A1 will I have trouble getting magazines? Will there be a limit on the number of magazines?

I think we are looking at a ban at least as comprehensive as the Clinton ban. The prior ban had no effect on me whatever. Now I am vulnerable.

You guys who made it through the Clinton ban please speak up and describe how it affected the Class 3 collector and shooter.

Thanks,

Curl

The only thing the Clinton ban did was drive up the price of high capacity magazines. There are millons of high capacity magazines in circulation, and a ban could only impact the manufacture of new ones (what happended with the Clinton ban). An interesting sidenote, school tradegies are nothing new in our history. Here's a link to the Bath School disaster in 1927 in which explosives were used to blow up an elementary school:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bath_School_disaster

Unfortunately, we will never be able to stop evil--at least not on this side of heaven.