Question about HK Sears:

tricky9914

Hey All,

I am not at all new to machine guns, but I am new to HK sears. I came across an MM11 (Michael's Machines version of HK11) and was thinking it would be fun to make FA. It is my understanding that I need to find an "unmarried" registered sear? I don't really have any interest in any other HK, roller-locking type firearm (other than perhaps a 21E at some point), so is there a certain route I should go? Again, sorry for the ignorance... Every single one of my machine guns are all WWII or earlier, so I am not too familiar with "sear" guns. 

Thanks for any advice!

You’ll find a sear is a deep deep deep rabbit hole…..I don’t care that much for Hk11’s as the ones built on G3 receivers can have issues with body bounce. 

If you get a sear, you’ll end up with the following hosts as a standard “kit” and expand from it:

MP5 (full size)

MP5SD

HK33

G3

HK belt fed guns are cool but the problem is besides eating ammo, if they aren’t tuned properly, they can eat parts and nothing HK belt fed is cheap!! I sold off all my HK belt fed guns for that exact reason….as much fun as they were, it wasn’t worth it for the cost of repair parts (and finding them) Now I just have my magazine fed host guns and couldn’t be happier. 

My HK host gun collection is a little long….

MP5 (very first build)

MP5 (irons only)

MP5 (optic)

MP5K

MP5K-SD

MP5K-RS

MP5SD (irons)

MP5SD (optic)

MP5SD-Hybrid (irons)

MP5SD-Hybrid (optic) 

HK53SD (300 BLK)

HK53

HK33K

HK33

HK51

G3K

G3

All of these host guns I have built myself as I build clone guns for people. I tell people that my G3 is the HK equivalent of a BAR. Shooting it off the shoulder isn’t as fun but shooting it off the bipod is deadly as sin!! If I had to pick five out of my list it would be the following:

MP5 

MP5SD

Hk53

HK33

G3