PK Westies

While I know that the Westies aren't as desirable to many like Colt's or original M1/M1A's, there always seems to be interest and appreciation for PK'd Westies. Is there a consensus on the value of a PK'd 1928 West Hurley? I have been watching the boards for quite a while and don't recall seeing one come up?

Thank you so much for the wealth of Thompson knowlege I have been able to glean from this boards discussions and FAQ's!

PK'd? Do you mean Parkerized West Hurleys'?

Ah. Thanks for that clarification. Unfortunately I have no experience with that.

A W.H. Thompson that has been PK'd would be at the top of the heap as far a dollar value among Westies. Some other notable gunsmiths such as the Andrewski brothers have also improved the funtionality or appearance of existing out of the box W.H.Thompsons. If such gunsmithing is done to a W.H.owner's gun, it would behoove them to keep the receipts from the actual work done on them as it could make a difference in the asking/selling price of the gun. A new out of the box W.H. would not necessarily bring a higher price at market for those people actually purchasing one with the intent of shooting it, as more often than not those guns usually have to have the weaknesses in them corrected. As with any other gun, putting an exact or even ballpark price on a PK'd Westie is guesswork but suffice to say there would be a premium on them.

Mike Hammer

Good question. Hope somebody can answer because it has suddenly become very

interesting.

I've got a WHurley 28 and M1 that are on PK's waiting list. I'm hoping the M1 will only need a face lift, the 28 will

require surgery unfortunately. I've resided to the fact that Pk's services will raise my cost basis on these guns to par or

higher than the historical GI Thompsons. The WHurleys will always bring less than the GI guns if the buyer is knowledgeable.

So,,,why go the PK route you ask?? In my case they will be my shooters and most likely be passed on to my sons.